Enhanced

I have come to drink cool sweet secrets from the long day's
drenches; I raced here pad-footed along crooked ways,
silently thirsting and swifter than darkness, and when
I stopped I had to bare my white razored grin,
to see you, my sweets, all frozen aghast
and delectable, on the altars made fast.

Through grit teeth, speak to me now,
yes you will... you will tell me how,
when, what, where, why and who,
and wherefore, if I want you to.
Breaking you is my sole task,
you'll answer aught I care to ask,

and I think you cannot think it odd
if I mock your manhood and your God,
for neither has any say in this. I have power
most absolute, dark and sweet, and in this hour
you will know a taste of eternity, and cry to heaven
from out of hell, but no one will hear. You are mice, not men.

BT Murtagh
~ by B.T. Murtagh on April 25, 2009.

4 Responses to “Enhanced”

  1. I wonder why no one ever comments on my poetry.

  2. wow (!)

  3. For the record, I love your poetry! And this one is, like Taz said: Wow!

    As for never commenting on it, I’ve often felt that to do so would be an intrusion, somehow, detracting from its purity.

    Seriously.

    • Thanks Lottie, I appreciate that! πŸ™‚

      Funny, my poetry is the one type of post I make in which I’m really trying to push for a reaction, deliberately trying to provoke… and yet the posts I get the most comments on are usually the ones where I’m just musing or reacting myself to something I read in the news. I’ve sometimes wondered if I was just trying too hard! πŸ˜‰

Leave a Reply

 
