Happiness is an Armful of Books

Me in a bookstore is like Imelda Marcos in a shoe store. I can’t help myself, I just love books, and I can’t leave a bookstore without buying something.

There is one thing, though – Imelda Marcos had a hell of a lot more money than I am ever likely to. When I come across a book sale it’s even more hopeless; I don’t have the built-in limitation of my non-dictatorial sized wallet, so I have to impose some other limitation.

The one I’ve chosen  of late is that in any one visit I can only take away as many books as I can carry in one arm. The result today was one sore arm, and this:

An armful of books

An armful of books

What can I say, though? It makes me happy. I’m thinking next time, two arms might not be too excessive…

Oh, and no, I didn’t snap the picture in the bookstore, that’s my living room!

~ by B.T. Murtagh on May 12, 2009.

3 Responses to “Happiness is an Armful of Books”

  1. I should go shopping with you and let you carry my books! 😆

    Your living room looks like a cool place to hang out!

  2. If you like books, videogames, decent (albeit inexpensive) wine and conversation to match, then yes, my living room is a cool place to hang out… and if you’re ever in the Charleston, SC area consider yourself invited to hang out!

  3. Now, that’s my idea of heaven! 😀

    Thank you for the invitation. If I’m ever in Charleston, I’d love to hang out!

    Our boys are about the same age, aren’t they? Mine will be 12 this Monday.

Leave a Reply

 
