Father’s Day Frog

First of all let me say that my son Eamon Sky, in cahoots with his mother, totally and completely fooled, bamboozled, hoodwinked, duped and misled me as to the nature of my Father’sDay Gift. They put it in a teapot box, and being a regulare drinker of tea I had no reason to question that that was what I was being given – especially since my son was so casually dismissive of it (“It’s not like you won’t guess what it is, Dad!”) & his mother added a cute fillip of misdirection by taping a couple teabags to the box as well.

They utterly got me; I was convinced it was a teapot, and it was not. I don’t collect teapots but I do collect frogs, and this is what I got:
Fathers Day Frog
You can’t really see it in the snap but the inner baby frog is a bobble-head so it was very surprising indeed!

Not only was the double-frog cool in itself, but it brought to mind (and this wasn’t planned I think by the tricksters!) a frog particularly apposite to Father’s Day, Rhinoderma darwinii, or Darwin’s frog:

Rhinoderma darwinii

Can you see the resemblance? 🙂

Very appropriate to Father’s Day, as this frog species (named after Charles Darwin) is one wherein the father frog nurtures the froglet exclusively, raising it to full froghood in his vocal pouch.

I know I will always be proudly reminded of my status as Dad every time I look at my lovely frog-in-frog present!

~ by B.T. Murtagh on June 21, 2009.

Leave a Reply

 
