Eye Of The Storm

Trouble lies behind
And worry ahead;
No matter…
I am in the eye of the storm.

Soft blanket on my head,
Peace, blessed peace,
Has somehow found my heart
In this still time.

It is quiet now,
My fingers cool on the keys.
Quiet breeze on my skin,
Tranquillity on my brow.

In slumber came this wakening
This call to the moment.
My books whisper drowsily,
a murmur in the darkness.

No need to wake, I smile.
My finger caress
Their tender spines
and I, I am content.

Whisper me your loves
When the wind breaks.
When the sun rises
Give me your hearts.

Share then your secrets,
Lovers who played flute,
And songs of before,
And dreams of after.

Smoke stretches,
Fissures in her fur,
Her wise beast eyes
Shut in dreams of mice,

And I am content.
I will be silent now
And lay me to rest here
In the eye of the storm.

B.T. Murtagh
sleepycat

~ by B.T. Murtagh on June 24, 2009.

Leave a Reply

 
